About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today: 4.11.12 Social Media’d All Over My Face

Today I literally woke myself up thinking about things I had to get done. Emails, reports, meetings and phone calls… it was exciting. Sound boring? Well, to some the idea of work is, but only because they can’t find enough things to be excited about. I think 2 things about these tasks: 1. I have a chance to connect with other good people that I work with and make a positive difference in their day and 2. I have the chance to make a positive difference in my career, and thus my life. Every day is another chance to excel. I choose not to coast and be stagnant, but to use every opportunity to move forward. It’s hard at first, not gonna lie, but build that momentum, incorporate that mentality into every aspect of your life, and you will find that you get carried with the momentum of your awesome self! Ok, back to today.

Literally cruised on over (on my shiny purple cruiser bike) to the local coffee shop to meet some girlfriends to blog together – how cute, I know. In between sips of lavender marshmallow matcha tea we talked about how overwhelming all this social media stuff is. Figuring out blogging, Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Flickr, Instagram, Flipboard, Digg… this stuff is nuts! So we sat there, clouds rolling past our glaring laptop screens, testing, tweaking and improving our different channels until our cups were emptied as our heads overflowed with social media.

In the middle of it all I thought, “Text, tweet, fb, email, evite, calls…. how about instead of communicating with these interfaces, I communicate with your ACTUAL face through smiles, laughter and hugs, experiences shared and memories made.” I almost quit right there, quit the whole online social community thing. But, here I am again…

What draws me to doing this? What draws each of you to express yourselves through blog? With all the options out there, why blog? Why now?

For me, I reminded myself that it’s because I want to have a voice be heard. Not necessarily mine, but one to stand up for women, for community and genuine caring, for helping one another, bonded by our common struggles, so that in this world where not being in one of these social media circles alienates you, we can find togetherness and through that happiness. So here I am, and here I will be for you, for us, for all.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments on “Me, today: 4.11.12 Social Media’d All Over My Face”

  1. Angan Gupta April 12, 2012 at 5:37 am #

    Nice blog.You are doing a great job. Keep it up. Cheers.

  2. eatsleepdoyoga April 12, 2012 at 6:14 am #

    Having your voice heard is important especially when you have an inspiring message that may not be heard elsewhere, or at least to the multitudes that the internet provides opportunities for. It’s easy to get overwhelmed with all the social media networks but sometimes just knowing that it’s out there through one social media host is enough for the time being. You have a lot to say that is bound to change people’s lives so keep it up lady! What a great day 🙂

    • Jennifer M Leong April 12, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

      Thank you so much my dear. It was a wonderful afternoon =) The friendship and togetherness we shared in person is what I hope to bring to other women out there. Get together, help each other and all be better for it.

Whacha think?

