About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 4.13.12 Philosophy and Mixology

Mammatus cloud panorama

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I woke up to a distant rumble and a dim sunrise. What an amazingly beautiful cloudy day! Here in Denver we have so much sunshine that when it’s absent we think “Ugh, it’s nasty out.” But a soft blanket of grey is just as beautiful, one just has to change their perspective. Living here with two hundred and sixty something days of sunshine, as opposed to the foggy California coast, has made me appreciate the wonderfully moody breeze and spectacular sadness that these days can bring. Too often we think that sadness is bad – but why does it have to be? It is after all, an emotion and a part of us. To truly accept yourself for who you are, you must embrace all of who you are: sad, happy, particular, nerdy, energetic, awkward… all of it is you.

Most people know you must earn the right to be happy, but forget you must also earn the right to be devastatingly sad. Both are an opportunity to find out who you are. Be worthy of your happiness and sadness alike. Embrace all of your emotions and who you are, accepting that it is a part of you.

After a long day of meetings, I had another I was looking forward to. Surprising one of my good friends with his first speakeasy experience. Walking into the tiny corner bookstore, we were greeted by a handsome over-bearded man politely asking what he could help us with. Half turning to my friend, I said a table for two please. Met with a confused look from my friend and a stoic one from the beard, he wrote our names on a library card and slipped it in a small opening between books. After a few moments a shelf swung open, creaking slightly and revealed a woman who greeted us by name and sat us at a table where we could see memorably creative cocktails and food being crafted and enjoyed. One drink in particular was sweet, tangy, smoky, spicy and cool all at once. Having taken some of the best food and drink of our lives we shared laughs, relived 6 years of memories and said goodnight with fully inhaled hugs. What a beautiful day this turned out to be. How can I not be excited to wake up every morning and find out what will happen!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

