About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 4.15.12 The Girly Girl in All of Us

A new discovery about finding my inner girly girl started as another snuggle-in-bed n hot coco kind of day in Denver. The last day of my house guest’s stay began with chai infused french toast.( Ohhh yes, it’s just as delicious as it looks and sounds. I am going to HAVE to try to make it!) We gabbed about the boy in his life and the recent lack there of in mine – you know, girl talk. With bellies full it was decided that a walk was necessary to ward off carb food coma. The sky protested our decision so the Yves St. Laurent exhibit came up as an absolutely fabulous idea in a “fine we don’t need sunny skies to have fun” hand flick kind of way.

We parked and got ready to head in. But not before taking some fun pictures with giant metal cow sculptures outside!

Ok, so I’m not what you would call a girly girl. My idea of fun usually involves getting sweaty, dirty and probably lightly bruised. But I am all about art, and fashion is definitely art. So off to the museum we went. Walking in, everything in the gift shop was taken over by YSL stuff in (of course) pink and black, lace and glitter. “Oh man.” I thought, “I’d rather be learning to kite board right now.” But I went with it.

Lining up to get into the enclosed exhibit I could peak in and see darkened rooms with spotlights illuminating mannequins donned in Haute Couture. I walked in to find colorful fabrics, surprisingly artful sketches and spectacular floor to ceiling displays. I was fascinated by how fashion influenced women’s liberation learning about how the introduction of pants into a woman’s work and evening wardrobe, as well as the fabrics and cuts, freed women from the restraints of the corset. Combine that with lace, feathers, sheer and tasteful sparkle… St Laurent created powerfully feminine looks that allowed women to express themselves through clothes. He said,

“The most beautiful garment a woman can wear is the embrace of the man that loves her. For those women not yet fortunate to have found that, I am here ” ~ Yves St Laurent

I was so intrigued by expression through clothing, it really made me think about how I express myself. Clothing, hair, make up, accessories, shoes… it was all a part of me, and I can say a message with every piece. I’m not saying I’m going to trade my climbing shoes for 6 inch stilettos and lipstick, just that now I found a new part of me. I connected with a side of myself that was long forgotten.

Had I not agreed to the new experience of seeing a fashion exhibit I would not have found the inner girly girl in me. I have just unveiled a new side I never knew existed! It’s like finding that 20 dollar bill in your jeans pocket that you forgot was there. You had it all along, but forgot it was there. Lesson for today, do something you know you don’t like, but approach it with an open mind. You just might discover something new about yourself!


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

