About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 4.16.12. My “Fashion” is Dead

I realized that I’ve given up a chance at self expression. The Yves St. Laurent exhibit really struck me yesterday. I now see that how I (and most people) determine my “style” is by looking at magazines, movie stars and commercials. All the ads try to portray a certain image associated with the clothes – usually sexy or powerful. Most people buy these garments because they want to portray that image, they want to be sexy or be powerful and what becomes most worn is then deemed “fashionable.”

Phrases like “Are you Lookbook worthy?” or “Fashion Icon” and defining what “The Modern Day Factory Girl”  looks like, all present you with clothes that define persona, and make you feel judged by how you can best copy that look to become that persona.

cover of Cliché Magazine issue 09

cover of Cliché Magazine issue 09 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

By trying to wear what is “fashionable” and looking to icons, commercials or magazines to determine our style we’ve just given up self expression. Take back the power to express yourself through clothing. Don’t copy, be an original. Know yourself, love her, and BE her.  When perusing through the racks, look for things that says something you want to express. Don’t try to copy that cute pair of boots or that sexy mini skirt you saw the girl in the coffee shop wear.

Go shopping with the idea of what you want to say about yourself, not copying what you’ve seen before. Dress yourself everyday around how you want to feel doing what you’re doing. Feel like and be the super woman you are!

Who out there blazes their own expressively fashionable path? Share your story! I’d love to see pictures and hear how your adornments say “This is me!”

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

