About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 4.18.12: Silence is Freeing

Today I thought about all the contact and connections I have with people every day. Phone calls, email, text, blog, coffee shop conversations… we communicate constantly. And when we’re not communicating, we think about it. We think about how we’re interacting with others, planning events, things to do… Without realizing it, we leave ourselves little time throughout the day for our own thoughts. To make sure I gave myself that time, I did something a little scary. I made dinner reservations for 1 at a favorite restaurant, requesting a quiet table in the corner away from the buzz of the main floor. I sat with phone off, back to the corner eating slowly and allowing myself to focus on whatever I felt like. At first I felt awkward, like there was something wrong with me, or like people were judging. But then I thought, “How self centered am I to think that people are paying that much attention to me?” And I just let go.

I surprised myself at the what I started to think about when I didn’t have to worry about engaging another person. My mind wandered from world issues, to the life of the chef who created the hand pulled pasta I was eating. I ate much slower than I would, realizing I had all the time to eat, and none to worry about what to say. I sat, completely relaxed with my own thoughts. My silence was so freeing. I hadn’t realized how much I worried about how I appeared to others until I had no one to entertain. I will experiment with going more places and doing more things alone. I wonder just how chained to interaction I am. Think about how focused you are on interaction, and how most thoughts are reactions to others as opposed to thoughts you initiate.

Set aside time, each day or at least a few times a week, to  generate your own thoughts. Just like making time for your happiness, your productivity and work, make time to create  your own thoughts.

Tags: , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

