About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 4.25.12: We all want it

Love yourself.

We all want it, we all need it, and we’re always trying to get some – love. You can call it acceptance, popularity, attention, validation… whatever you want. It comes down to being loved. This need is the primary driver for almost everything we do: the way we dress, who we talk to, the things we buy and the money we make… We adapt ourselves according to what we think will get us the most immediate and most volume of love. Everyone does it, consciously or not – and that’s ok.

Many people feel bad about the attention they need from their friends, their lover or otherwise. They don’t want to seem “needy” or incapable of independence. Well I’m here to say, it’s ok to want attention, and want to be loved. Just be sure to know why. If it’s because you need validation or the love of others to replace a love for yourself, then it’s not ok. There is work to be done on being able to stand alone without it. But if a certain amount of love and attention truly is a part of who you are and what you need to be happy, accept it. Think about it, if you never tell people the amount you need to be loved and how, then you will never get it and always be unfulfilled.

Love yourself enough to ask for the love you need from others, be true to that need and you will always be happy.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments on “Me, today. 4.25.12: We all want it”

  1. eatsleepdoyoga April 26, 2012 at 4:53 am #

    So well said. And very true ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. thefinestglow April 26, 2012 at 5:21 am #

    You and your blog are extremely amazing! I am always a fan of posts that empower women! I can’t wait to see posts to come in the future ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Jennifer M Leong April 26, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      Thank you so much, that really just made my day! Please send me suggestions on what you would like to see, or comment with challenges you’ve faced. I love to hear what other women go through, so we can all go through it together! Send me an email if you don’t want to post: jennifermleong@gmail.com

      Thank you so much for reading, I hope to hear from you soon!

Whacha think?

