About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 4.30.12: The End of ‘Bad Days’

Today was wonderful just like any day! Productive work, great workout, light chats with good friends, some major practice for our upcoming country samba show this Saturday, and then some amazing social ballroom dance.

But there was one point in my day where I got extremely frustrated at a lack of focus in completing a joint goal.  We’ve all been there, someone or something irks you the wrong way and you just wanna smack them!

Angry woman.

Anger is not a good look, don't wear it.

Even the best of us feel like that from time to time. As my annoyance welled up, I closed my eyes for half a second, took a deep breadth and told myself that people are inherently good. I told myself (and it really does help) “There is nothing about this person or their actions that are intentionally trying to bother me. Understand and take their intent, not my interpretation.” When I focused on the good intentions they meant, my frustration melted away and so did the low point in my day. I looked at what I was doing wrong first. Because of my frustration, I was the one keeping us from being productive and when I let it go, we could and did move on. Just like that my angry day was good again (ok, it mayyyy have helped that I was riding my motorcycle, singing along to Ace of Base’s “I Saw The Sign” hehe)

In yesterday’s post ‘Me, today. 4.29.12: All It Takes Is One Good Moment,’ it only takes one good moment to make a good day, the flip side is one bad one can make it terrible. All it takes to ruin your day is one low point, you can choose not to 

It’s inevitable that tragedy or misfortune will strike you, but take the attitude that those moments are necessary to show us how wonderful the good ones are. Don’t lower your happiness to the meet whatever happened. In everything there is an opportunity for a positive lesson, search for it, it’s always there. And guess what, when you find that positivity in everything, that will be the end of your bad days.

What bad situation, misfortune or annoyance have you turned into a positive? And how did that affect you and the outcome?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

