About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 5.4.12. Learn to Leave It.

Today I felt behind. Busy with work all day, extending past the hours meant, and through lunch – trying to finish the week strong. We’ve all been there. It’s been a rough work week, feeling like you’re behind and you do those last few emails, the last few phone calls. Or worse, you take it home with you to do later. And getting caught up in that flurry, I just felt my stress rise, and my need to find relief well up. Many of us give ourselves the break through junk food, drinking, or plain over eating. That’s how we deal with stress, and there’s nothing good about it. We just delay it. The food, stress, and lack of sleep causes weight gain which we will in turn stress about more later, then causing us to go put more stress on by working out and dieting. The whole cycle keeps going and that’s why we can never break it. Take a look at the chart and see all the ways stress affects you.

Effects of stress on the body. So ladies,whatever it is,  just leave it. Don’t push your stress beyond a level that you cannot calm with a few deep breadths. It just not worth it.

That’s not the only place I felt behind. Tomorrow is the big show, and for the first time I’m nervous. I have the steps down myself, but it’s not about me – it never is. It’s about the whole of the group together, and I’ll say, we needed practice tonight and we’ll need it tomorrow before the show.

Shows in general are both an exciting and nerve wrecking experience. We almost never know the size or material of floor we’ll have, it could be 20’x30′ wabbly risers covered in carpet, it could be a 8’x15′ cement floor, we may have time to rehearse, we may not.

We may even have to learn a last minute flash mob routine to incorporate into our the rest of the performers. But man, the energy and buzz in the dressing rooms… we could be next to a broadway act or a singing team putting on pounds of glittery make up, fluffing hair to Oprah proportions…. it’s all so exciting. And the feeling you get stepping out onto whatever floor it is, seeing the faces of the crowd disappear into a sea of lights – the music comes on and you come alive. The life of a dancer is an amazingly happy but thankless one. Any and every dancer does it for the love, not the lifestyle. They do it because something inside them shines and guides their heart to move the body.

Ladies Chorus at this year’s Showcase

Wish us luck tomorrow. It’s going to be a crazy weekend. Dance show tomorrow, and racing a car on Sunday… I can’t wait to live my life and I am so grateful that I can feel this way every day.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

