About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 5.5.12. The Big Show!

The day was spent in anticipation for tonight’s show. Hours of practice, led to curlers, big hair, bigger eyelashes, red lips and a sexy country costume. The dressing room is exactly as you imagine, just a little less glamorous. Women walking around half dressed in high heels and sparkling jewels leaning over a counter putting on make up with pursing lips and glitter dust flying. The ladies slipped on our dancing boots and strut onto a floor surrounded by hundreds of lawyers and their +1 cheering onlookers. The music blared, but wait… it was the wrong song! We froze in our positions smiles growing right along with the silence in place of the music we were supposed to hear. Then finally as the butterflies just started to flutter, the music came on, barely audible then blaring. My toe point turned into a spin and hip rolls. After 3 minutes of leg flourishes, samba rolls and cheers from the crowd we bowed off, breathing hard and feeling a sense of pride and relief. We walked though a crowd of people shouting “Good Job!” or “Great Show!” and it wasn’t until the dressing room did we finally breathe out and let our tired shoulders droop a little.

Ladies Chorus

As we peeled off our costumes we exchanged “great shows” and goodbyes, each of us disappearing into the evening, walking by just like anyone else you might pass on the street. I smiled on the drive home, thinking just as I knew I would. “It wasn’t a perfect show, but tonight I danced, I performed and I lived my life to the fullest I could.”

Most importantly no matter what had happened, I thanked myself for the opportunity of happiness, fulfillment and learning. To dedicate time to myself to do what I love. I hope you all dedicated time to do something you loved today, and thanked yourself for it.

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

