About the Post

Author Information

Clair who also goes by BASEgirl is a BASE jumper, Skydiver, Mountain bike racer, Rock climber and Model. She is a passionate vegan and a world traveler. She has made it her life goal to inspire others and help them accomplish or find their dreams and passions! After defying the odds and becoming one of the worlds youngest BASE jumpers at 16 years old she realized how important it is to always follow your dreams! And now she helps others find theirs.

Me, today. 5.9.12: Clair Marie’s “The Art of Vulnerability”

The ability to be vulnerable is a true gift and not one that many people take into their adult life. We are all born 100% vulnerable and through life’s “tough lessons” walls are built and we each lean that we must protect ourselves in one way or another.  I lived my life protecting my emotions, my physical assets, my finances and myself. The problem however lies with in me and only me. How can I fully experience and express love if I am protected? The answer is I can’t. To become vulnerable, to open up let go and trust the process, is something I strive for. In order for me to let go I like to fully understand!

Vulnerable by definition means “capable of or susceptible to being wounded or hurt, as by a weapon: a vulnerable part of the body. 2. open to moral attack, criticism, temptation, etc”  Making the easy realization and clearing up the initial confusion of what being vulnerable means helped me blow my common misconception, that vulnerability means being so emotionally open or so emotional that I would cry every other second, cry of joy, sadness or excitement, out of the water. I viewed vulnerability as a weakness, as such an incredibly feminine trait and one which I felt I would be judged for if I possessed. Why did I think this, why did I feel that way? Because I felt the only way I could make it through the day was by protecting myself, by only showing my strong side and keeping my impenetrable shield to my true inner woman up at all times.

Vulnerability to me now is a wonderful thing and something to be embraced.  To be vulnerable does not necessarily just mean to have the ability to open up emotionally even with the possibility of being hurt, but it is the ability to open up in any area of my life that I feel I am protecting, to allow someone else to take care of me and to trust that they will, to know that I can be hurt but to let go of that fear and to let the process flow. To be open about finances even though it scares me or stresses me out. To not let fear of opening up keep me from experiencing life fully. Because I can’t experience all of life’s amazing adventures if I keep one foot on the doorstep separating constraint and protection from pure bliss!

Clare has some amazing wisdom and emotional intelligence. I am constantly inspired by her strength, and I hope you are too. Thank you Clare.

2 Comments on “Me, today. 5.9.12: Clair Marie’s “The Art of Vulnerability””

  1. Stephanie May 10, 2012 at 5:26 am #

    So very true! Thank you for sharing!!!

Whacha think?

