About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 5.14.12. Cherish Everything

Love you Mom

Today was an amazingly beautiful day to celebrate the one that made my life possible, and a chosen family member – one that makes my life worth living.  My mother who birthed me, and gave me everything my life is, and someone born outside my family, but as close as blood.

I watched the glistening streets glazed with fresh rain, shimmering puddles on leaves, sidewalk and road while talking to my mother, the most wonderful woman in the world. She who so gently supported me in ways I never saw, never asking for thanks or praise, and never giving anything but love. We talked about her faltering body and ways to ease her into her older years, crying together, feeling the love even through the distance. I wanted to reach through the phone and hold her, as I was held by her so many times. My heart both broke and grew at the same time, for her, with her and because of her. As everyone knows, there is no love like a mother’s and I am grateful for my mother every day, I cherish every conversation we can have and every time I do get to see her. Cherish every moment, because you really never know when the “last time” will be for conversation, for love and for life lived with anyone.

I found this amazing song today, about a boy and how the relationship with his mother changed in different phases of his and her life.”Mama Hold My Hand” by http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUXVaSJjuQk

friend in a box

After teaching an hour long intro to break dance class to a group of excited girls, operation birthday surprise commenced. The covert operation involved a surprise out of town guest (our other mutual good friend, who completed the trio of Amasianosity), a large box, lots of wrapping paper, and tons of good food. The set up was underway: his girlfriend would bring him to the pool level of his apartment complex and I would be there, card and giant present in hand… after the que word our friend leaps up, bursting the box open. Break beats blare and he explodes into a break dance set with a bagful of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (birthday boy’s favorite candy) which I grab while tumbling over him as the start of my dance. The whole while, birthday boy is laughing and clapping at the silliness and shocked that our friend is here after 9 months of absence. When the music stops we share the biggest 3 way hug and smiles, laughing as we reviewed the footage of his birthday break dance ambush. But that’s not all, we rounded the corner to a full spread of steak, potatoes, stuffed mushrooms and chicken wings ready for grillin finished by a home made 4 layer gooey chocolate cake, with creamy peanut butter filling and amaretto chocolate fudge frosting. With bellies full and cheeks hurting from laughter, we say our goodbyes and exchange deep hugs.

4 layer gooey chocolate cake with peanut butter cream filling and amaretto fudge frosting

Today was a wonderful celebration of people and life. My mother, the woman she is and the life she gave me, and one of my best friends, his birth and how he makes my and everyone’s life better with his presence. I sit here now, at my dining table letting every emotion from today soak in, and locking it away in my heart. I hope all of you have felt and given love today, cherishing every moment.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

