About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 5.15.12. The Anti Social Media Argument

As much as I love posts and seeing pics on FB, Pinterest, Instagram, Flickr, YouTube and whatever other scratch-n-snifty new thing they come up with, I’m a fan of seeing a person’s face more. Feeling their smile, hearing their laughter, and seeing their eyes is the way to go. I see more and more, people waiting for their car wash, in line for the bank or even at dinner with friends on their phones telling the world about what they’re doing. How about actually just doing it?

Who else is tired of splitting their friend time with Facebook, people obsessing over instantly Instagraming, or finding things out by tweet rather than being told? These are social networking tools, not replacements. All of the different ways we communicate actually drive us apart because we spend less time with the people in front of us and more telling others about it.

All of these tools just create more work. Now you have to check email, text, voicemail, FB, tweet, IM clients, messages and mail just to keep up with whats happening. Heaven forbid you don’t and you miss out on someones engagement, big trip, or career change. I think social media actually drives us apart, giving us the illusion of closeness through updates.

I say we start a movement to put away our phones while we’re with people – and I mean back in your purse, or leave it in the car – not on the table where it’s on vibrate. I know it’s hard when your phone is now also your camera, your calendar to plan, gps, internet and fly swatting bacon griller all in one, but try. Unplug yourself from the world and insert into the moment you’re a part of.

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

