About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 5.16.12. Work Through by Working Out

Today was not such a good day. Mostly because of my attitude. A culmination of several untimely events has busted through my smile bubble – and that’s ok. It’s ok to be sad or brooding sometimes and it’s ok to show it as long as you don’t take it out on anyone – most importantly yourself. A lot of people result to food or vices to help cope, which is ok on occasion (no one’s perfect), but should not be used as a substitute to working through issues. So, I mapped out a road to happiness in my head.

Kitten newborn

Homawgawd! The cuteness! Oh it hurts, it hurts!

First, the quick fix. Something that will make me happy enough to come out from under my umbrella and stroll back to the sunny side of the street. Something not detrimental to my health and free – my favorite comic The Oatmeal – and some ridiculously cute kitten videos on Youtube. You know the kind I’m taking about, the ones that make you squeal  and squirm in your chair like someone put a ferret down your pants.

Second, something to get me out of my head – I forced my droopy eyed face to get to the gym. Often times what makes us spiral down into the depths of a tub of Ben N Jerry’s is obsessing in our heads about an issue. So, by going to the gym and focusing on my body, breathing and form I stopped the churning chaos in my head.

Group Personal Training at a Gym Category:Fitn...

work through problems by working out

Third, resolution plan. I pumped my arms, pulled my lats and pondered what would fix the issues. What did I do to make them worse? A,B, and C… what can I do to make this exercise “worse”? A, B, C…  What part of the problem can I control, and what can I not? OK, don’t sweat the stuff I can’t control, sweat the workout I was shredding. And so my working out and working through problems continued. Before I knew it 2 hours had passed, countless calories burned and I felt in control again. Instead of life happening to me, I happen to it! Ok world, hit me with it. I got this.

Develop a plan for yourself to get through issues. Just like you have a routine for getting ready for bed, make a routine guaranteed to pull you out of the dangerous sadness category that leads you to do things detrimental to your health. You will work through problems better, faster and move on to being happy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

