About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 5.25.12: Delicate Work Drama

Eager for the long weekend I rushed over to a graduation party after work where I watched young men and women in a very transitory stage in their lives.

I sat with a good girlfriend who was the only one close to my age and talked about her work challenges. Raising her voice over the bustle and dodging the occasional trampolining teenager, she told me of her work drama. How there is a challenging woman she has to work with, personalities don’t mesh and work styles are way off sync. We all have that person at work, someone that can do no right. “How do you stay so clam when talking this stuff out? I mean, I just wanna scream at her!” she said. I advised the first tactic:1. accept that you are not going to like everyone and not everyone will like you. Don’t fight to make the relationship work, just clarify to make working together work. 2. When talking to someone you can’t stand, talk to their role, not the personality. Think “Ok Marketing Manager (instead of Ms. IWannaSlapYourFace) to get this project done I need D,E, and F. 3. Tell them that you want to make both your jobs easier and the best way for you to provide what they need when they need it is if when they ask it of you, to do it in such and such way.

Being clear doesn’t have to mean confrontational or direct, it just means setting a standard practice.

Just as in any part of your life, set boundaries and rules of engagement for yourself. Don’t be afraid to tell people what you need and how you need it so long as you ask others the same and give the same respect.

Tags: , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

