About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 5.28.12. Sometimes You Just Gota Be Lazy

Today, I didn’t do much. After a weekend filled with some high intense cardio, late nights and tons of people I wanted a little peace and quiet and nothingness. The morning was spent at

My cat Mikka, being lazy. We could all take a lesson from her.

breakfast with a hand full of friends and was walked off strolling solo through a street fair. An early afternoon nap, and late afternoon cruiser bike ride turned window shopping through a downtown art festival with a girlfriend was just the nice, relaxing day I needed.

We all run a buhzillion miles an hour. Sometimes you must take a rest day – mentally and physically, to relax, recharge, reset and get energized for light speed again. The mental break is most important with physical close behind.

We must make time to “check out” of running our lives, and instead just live it – just be. Keep a balance, whether it’s a few minutes a day to recharge, a few hours a week or whole days a month, take time to just sit and simply exist. No  people, to do lists, work… let go of your label: mother, chauffeur, cook, maid, teacher, wife, sister, motivator… and just exist as you in this world.

See: www.falundafa.org/eng/exercises.html

Mediation

Meditation and yoga is exactly this – freeing your mind and your self to just exist, finding peace and stillness through focusing on that self and nothingness. You don’t have to do mediation and yoga to find this, the point is to set aside time for clearing your mind, relaxing, and finding an inner peace. Today, I didn’t do yoga, or meditation, but the solo activities and the relaxed thoughtlessness at which I approached my day was my relaxation. Find a way to have yours, in whatever form fits you best, it doesn’t matter what it is as long as it’s there. What do you do to relax? What’s your way to check out? For some it’s cooking, or cleaning, shopping, working out or even yard work. Share your ideas!

Happy health everyone!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

