About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 6.8.12. The Making of a Dance Studio & Other Businesses

Today I am energized and inspired! We almost completed the steps of starting a lease on a new dance studio. A dream for my fellow dancers, to have our own space, teach at our own times and impact the community. Even with our combined skills and effort, it takes a lot of work and planning to start our own business. First negotiations for a leased space, then construction to add flooring, mirrors, move walls etc. The marketing via social media, web, direct and performances, creating the structure, communications and how to run day to day vs strategic long term operations…. it’s very exciting but a lot to think about.

It takes me back to when I had my own business. I was historian for my Co-Ed Pre-Professional Fraternity, AKPsi. That meant I was in charge of the annual photos. In hiring a photographer to take our snazzy suited up snaps, I saw his poorly run operation and thought “I could do this better!” And presto the light bulb went on. These photographers were great at their art but sheit at business. I thought “Heyyyy I’m pretty Business McBusinesson…” so my friend and I made a web page, registered our photography business and got crackin. We did all the marketing, advertising, sales, contracts, business operations and printing negotiations – soup to nuts – hiring photographers to do what they do best, take photos. We covered all the business sides, and they did all the art. A simple successful business model. For 2 years this was my sole income, putting me through the last year of university and one year beyond until I decided to join the ranks of corporate America. It was a wild ride, something I hope to get back to some day, because the feeling of running your own show is like nothing else.

I thought of other women though, who might not have had such luck, who need some guidance. What did I find? The National Women’s Business Council! They state…

“The National Women’s Business Council (NWBC) is a non-partisan federal advisory council created to serve as an independent source of advice and counsel to the President, Congress, and the U.S. Small Business Administration on economic issues of importance to women business owners. The Council is the government’s only independent voice for women entrepreneurs. Members are prominent women business owners and leaders of women’s business organizations.

The Council is committed to:

  • Conducting research on issues important to women business owners and their organizations
  • Communicating these findings widely
  • Providing a platform for change to expand and improve opportunities for women business owners and their enterprises”

There is even an annual conference where women business owners come together to exchange ideas and lend support to one another. This amazing find can hopefully help some of your women out there who have thought about running their own business, but didn’t know how or where to get support. Here it is!

This is an amazing organization run by women for women to help them be successful! How great is that? Check them out, be inspired, supported and encouraged.Have you ever had a business idea but weren’t sure how to start? Post a question! Post your idea and get some feedback!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

