About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 6.11.12. You Never Know Your Impact

Today started like any amazingly bright and welcoming day. Work held it’s own unique challenges and when it ended a quick and intense workout was squeezed in before zooming over to the Ronald McDonald Charity House where children needing special medical care can stay with their families. I joined the ranks of the Miss Asian American Colorado (MAAC) organization and my favorite breakers to sponsor and cook a meal for all the families there, teaching the exercise deprived children to break dance.

We marinated giant bowl fulls of several pounds of chicken, shredded bags upon bags of salad and steamed kiddie pool sized pots of broccoli. After the plates held by sweet young children were filled and their tummies full, we clapped, smiled and encouraged their shy faces to move their feet and tumble around as much as possible.

Seeing their smiles and shyness start to fade into the happy break beats filled my heart with love. Love for the other breakers who came for these kids, love for the young ladies of MAAC who organized the event, and love for the kids, having a chance to forget their ailments and just be kids, even for a little while. But the moment that stood out the most was not the ones where a whole room full of people were clapping for the dancing bboys, or the MAAC ladies laughing together, it was after.

One of the mothers came up to me and took my hand, thanking me for the dance lesson and encouraging her young son. At the age of 8 he has never taken an interest in anything because of his medical needs and mental challenges. And now, break dancing has been his very first interest. I could see the happiness behind her eyes and the relief in her voice, with the slightest quiver of tears in her throat, “We’ve got to be here a while longer… maybe long term…” fighting back tears she told me about their unique challenges and asking if I taught somewhere so that he could come learn and hopefully improve his health.

It took me back quite a bit, I had no idea the impact a how a short class of tumbling around can change or affect a young child’s life. Although I had dragged my exhausted self to cook and be a bubbly kid friendly coach, making me ready to pack up and sneak out early, the look on the mother’s face watching her child whisper a shy “Thank you, it was fun. Will you teach me again?” to me, made the whole night worth it.

So ladies, make time to make a difference. Be a good person to everyone, all the time.  You will probably never know the impact you have, but it doesn’t mean that it’s not there.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

