About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 6.14.12. 10 min Healthy Recipe

Me, today. 6.14.12. 5 tips for Quick, Easy, Healthy & Delicous Meals!

Today, was a busy busy day – when is it not? Starting with a 6am meeting, everything ranging from cell ringing while on my desk line, To Do emails being pitched over to me, and in person meetings it’s hard to find the time to eat well and stay healthy. But, I got my bum over to the gym donning a hat pulled down close to my eyes and flashy ear-covering headphones as a big “I’m here to bust ass today, don’t bother me” sign. And it worked – I pumped out a back stabilizing, butt burning, calf pumping, shoulder pressing, ab shredding 2 hours (about 45 min of break dance training included).

By the time dinner rolled around I was tempted to just order Chinese take out than have to plan and buy groceries (we’ve all been there). But after spending all that time, to use your body well, why would you not fuel it well? Soooo, here’s a 10 min healthy meal idea from my lunch today. It was so good, I did a take two for dinner.

Here’s what you’ll need:

– about 1 lb of chicken strips

– 2-3 kale leaves

– dried onion, garlic, rosemary

– 1 sun dried tomato

– lemon and orange juice (fresh preferred)

– Your handy dandy I-can’t-live-without-these kitchen scissors.

Hoookay here’s what to do: Take chicken strips out of the freezer in the morning and put it in the fridge, when you come home they should be fully defrosted.

Heat up about a teaspoon of olive oil and then swirly swirl in the pan to coat the bottom

Hold your chicken strips over the pan and cut into 1/2 inch pieces with your kitchen scissors, be careful we don’t want your to slice off a piece of your finger – those kitchen scissors are sharp! (wash your hands and the scissors after)

Throw on about 1 tblsp dried onions, 1/2 tblsp dried garlic, and 1/2 tblsp rosemary. Cut the sun dried tomato into teeny pieces over the pan as well with your magic time saving scissors. Toss it around until cooked – should take 5 min

Hold the kale over the pan and cut into bite sized pieces with your kitchen scissors – don’t get too excited now, just leave it don’t mix

Take 1/2 a lemon, 1/2 an orange and squeeze the juice out onto the kale – NOW you can toss.

Stir occasionally for about 2-3 min and bingo bango bongo you’ve got a delicious healthy meal!

Now you can top it with some fancies like pistachios – I did in the picture above – or sliced almonds for a little crunch.

Note: this dish does not have salt. The sun dried tomatoes and herbs give enough flavor so that you don’t have to use salt. Try fresh ground pepper instead if you want some spice.

Go get healthy ladies! It’s quick and easy if you know how.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

