About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 5.16.12. Don’t Be Afraid to Be Unliked

Me, today. 5.16.12. Don't Be Afraid to Be Unliked

Today my cousin came in to visit me. I could hardly wait for her plane to land and to show her all the things I love about my city. We had a great time eating Ethiopian food with our hands, talking about life, our childhood and the challenges of being the independent, self sufficient women we are.

Sipping chocolaty drinks under the stars on a breezy downtown patio, I listened to her talk about how she came to where she was in life. Her unapologetic acceptance of who she is, what she wanted, “take it or leave it” attitude struck me. I had always known it was there, but listening to her speak about how securely she resides in herself made me think about those women that are almost too nice, that are afraid to be outspoken or opinionated for fear what would be said could be unpopular.

I used to be very much like that – changing myself, how I acted, and what I talked about depending on the group I was with. It was all to be the most pleasing version of myself that I could be. Some complimented me on my chameleon-like social skills, but none of it was truly me, and what was worse? I changed myself purely for the reason of being more sociable. It was not until my obsession with being popular wore me down that I knew I needed a change. It wasn’t until I started to accept myself for who I am, and love that person, that I stopped needing the acceptance of others and I was finally free to be myself.

Too often we fear not only rejection, but not being liked. It drives our actions and how we take a stand on issues or even if we take one at all.

To be true to yourself, get away from the need to be liked by everyone. It’s uncomfortable, sure. When someone is not your biggest fan, it can feel awkward. But think of it this way… If you’re busy being an acceptable version of yourself to everyone, when do you get to be just you?

Tags: ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

