About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 6.16.12. A Tom Boy in Heels

Today I woke up to cook my visiting cousin savory chicken creps in an almond milk based pesto cream sauce. We needed good fuel to take us through her very first outdoor climbing adventure! The morning gave us the perfect climbing conditions: 65 degrees partly cloudy and hardly any wind. We packed up our gear, packed in the car and packed on to a popular climb. Finally settling on a spot shared with some very warmly smiled locals, I refreshed her memory on knots, tie ins and safety. All the while geeking out on gear and technique waving my flannel wearing arms and swinging around my capris covered legs mimicking the climbing motions. Then it was on belay! I was off to test out the route before she climbed, clenching my fingers, jamming my hands and pumping my legs and scouring the rock for tiny foot placements and hand holds scarcely wider than a pencil.  Most of the climb was easy breezy and upon reaching the top I felt very satisfied at the relative ease after an almost 2 year non climbing hiatus. I repelled myself down to join her on solid ground and give her a warm encouraging smile.

Her big moment came. She tied in, I checked her safeties and hands freshly dusted in chalk, she was off. Pulling her way past the first few difficult feat she grew nervous and slipped taking a big whipper and swinging around the rock face and scraping her knuckles a bit. It seemed the day was over when it had barely begun, but her determination was stronger than her quit, so after antibacterial and tape she was back on. Pushing past her last point she kept going up and up until the pencil ledges. Then the injury started to wear on her and she regrettably came down and so did the rain. Thunder storms boomed in the distance and the wind began to blow, sending cold gusts up the rock face and onto our face. Given her injury, we called it a day – a great one!

I was reenergized and reinspired! My passion for rock climbing once drove me to chalk coated hands 4 times a week and has since stopped to zero after my a car accident badly damaged my back and neck. I suddenly missed hanging (literally) with the guys and talking about climbing and wanted to reconnect to that side of me. I loved being dirty, tired and a little banged up – it makes me feel like I did something today that made use of the body I have.

I made the note to contact my climbing buddies later and shifted to the uber girly business of dressing up in pin up clothing and going to a World War 2 Era Ball. I victory rolled my hair, pinned on an air force cap and rouged my lips alongside my cousin and best girlfriend. Promptly piling in cars we headed off to an evening of live big band music, swing dancing, and food under the stars. We posed, smiled and Lindy hopped our way through the night watching dance performances, a Frank Sinatra impersonator and everyone dressed in 1940s attire all in an old airport hanger. I became fascinated with the old cars, planes and mechanics of them all, wanting to restore something from that era. For the second time that day, my interest was peaked by something very typically masculine and I was reminded of just how much a tom boy I was. But a tom boy in heels!

Coming home, my cousin and I both felt sleepy and are going to bed with dreams of extreme opposite activities: climbing and getting dolled up to dance. It may be strange but I love being who I am, weather flannel wearing, chalk covered, dirty and sweaty, or hair sprayed, red lipped and twirling in heels, I am me and it’s wonderful.

I hope all you ladies out there can and do feel the same way about yourselves.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

