About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 6.23.12. Break the Workout Blues

Today was a great all day workout! “Boroooooringggg” you say? No friggin way! I met my girlfriends for a 9 am workout in the park. Under the swaying trees, grass between our toes, and crisp morning air in our lungs we sweated from push ups, lat pulls,  and ab busting exercises. Our Workout, grill out and chill out morning kicked off by mixing up our usual routine, each taking turns introducing and exercise ranging from pilates, plyometrics, exercise band and slack line workouts. After all the sweating was done, we busted out marinated chicken and vegetable skewers to grill and share, talking about love, life and health. Having to run to dance practice, I  didn’t get a chance to chill out and relax, but I’m sure the rest of the ladies loved it.

After scarfing down some food, I high tailed it over to my ladies chorus practice, cooling down from my hard breathing only to rev it back up for an hour of swiveling my hips and tensing my legs and to detailed cha cha lesson.

I got an hour break before walking into a 2 hours “I had 7 people throw up in the last class” kind of intense breakin workshop. We sweated, and caught our breadth in 15 second rest periods. After the 2 hours, I was almost completely spent. Having jumped from one activity to the next, I was exhausted, downing a cup of coffee at dinner before heading to the biggest breakin even to ever hit Denver. Red Bull’s BC One U.S. Qualifiers for the Best BBoy in the World competition.

Walking in, our eyes were squinted by bright flashing lights illuminating a chest high stage complete with a giant Red Bull logo. Music blasted from the taller than me speakers being spun by a DeeJay raised far above the crowd and backlit by a floor to ceiling projection. I hugged and high fived my way through countless familiar faces as my friends bobbed their heads, taking turns jumping into the cyphers (dance circles). Then the time came, the MC called to the stage the western U.S.’s top 16 bboys – 3 of which were from my crew, and 6 of which were my friends – I was beyond excited for all of them. Jumping up and down, screaming their names as they battled, the crowd roared at blow up moves and hype songs until finally the final 2 stared each other down in full battle ready stance. The music kicked up and so did my boy Taski aka Bboy Kid Cruz. Jumping in and tossing his hat on the ground he pulled a signature move, spinning on his hands until over his hat, then dipping his head in to continue spinning on his head. He continued to wow the crowd until finally taking the battle and earning his ticket to Chicago for a chance at battling to represent the U.S. in the world championships.

My heart, along with every other Colorado dancer, exploded with pride and excitement for him. After many hugs and smiles I started to crash, driving myself and a couple friends home. With a long day coming to an end, I showered and let my body rest for the first time that day, grateful that it could take me through wherever my passions led me.

Tags: , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

