About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 6.25.12. 10 Day Anywhwere Workout Challenge

Today kicked off my first day in a series of 10 traveling. I’ve challenged myself to eat healthy and workout every day even though the fitness facilities are about the size of my closet, and the food options range from Denny’s to McDonalds.

After landing last night and checking in to a lovely hotel with little in room floor space and even less gym space, I had to get creative with my workout.

– Squats: I took my carry on, held it to my chest and did 3 sets of 20 deep and slow, wides stance squats being sure to tense my glutes as if I were trying to crack a walnut.

– Push ups: Yea yea, I know you ladies hate them, but they’re oh so good. 3 sets of 20 proper push ups, touching nose to floor and adding some challenge by lifting one leg every 5 reps got my abs, obliques, glutes and chest burning.

– Tricep Dips: doing 3 sets of 20, I used the side of the bed to do one legged tricep dips where both legs are straight but one is kept lifted in the air while dipping, and alternating legs every 5 counts.

– Plank Ab curles: 3 sets of 25 ab curles, starting from plank position, feet together and on a paper towel, pulling in with both my lower and upper abs to pull my knees up to my chest and being careful not to use my thighs. These burn if done right – tensing your abs in and pressing them into your spine.

– Torso Twist: I brought 1 piece of essential equipment – my medium tension workout band with handles ($10 at Target). Tucking one end behind the headboard I held the other end in both hands, arms straight in front and body facing the headboard. I twisted 180 degrees to face away from the bed using just my torso, keeping arms straight and abs tucked like I was squeezing into skinny jeans. After 3 sets of 20 my back, obliques and abs burned.

Biggest thing with eating out and on the road is leftovers. You feel bad because you can’t take leftovers home, so you’re more likely to overeat. Get smaller portions. Here’s a hint, at restaurants look at the sides instead of the full plates, not only will it help you portion control, but it will often give you healthier options. For example: side of 2 eggs any style and a slice of ham or plate of seasonal fruit, steamed veggies or side salad. It’s not difficult, go for grilled instead of fried. Get dressing on the side instead of on, no cheese on that burger and no bun for that matter. Pick fish instead of beef and water instead of juices or soda with lots of sugar.

In the airport I bought a snack bag of raw almonds instead of trail mix with chocolate chunks. I chose black coffee with soy milk instead of whole and didn’t add sugar. I chose a deli salad instead of a french dip sandwich and a bottle of water instead of a coke. Being in the healthy mindset is the hard part, finding ways to be healthy is easy. Make good choices.

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

