About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

My 100th Post! Me, today. 6.26.12. Day 2 Of the Anywhere Workout Challenge: Seattle

Trading the cloud cover of Spokane for Seattle this morning, I started my day at 6am wanting to make sure my workout was in before I was out. I wanted to run out side, but being easily lost, I decided staying in one place is best and got my mind and body going with creative exercises.

resistance training– High knees chair touch: I put a chair in front of me, jumping up and then touching my toes to the seat (effectively doing high knees) 3 times, in 5 minute intervals. My rest in between was to turn around, put my feet on the chair and execute well formed pushups – 10 in between each high knees. I made sure to keep my abs engaged and tucked, and touched my nose all the way to the floor.

– Donkey Kicks: On the ground on all fours, with a handle of my exercise band under each hand, I hooked my foot into the bottom of the U shape it made and straightened my leg backwards, using my glutes instead of quads to extend my legs against the band. . After 3 sets of 25 on each leg, my buns were burnin something bad! Make sure you don’t sink into your standing leg’s hip, keep your back straight and unmoving as possible.

– Lat pulls: throw your resistance band over your door and sit on the ground, legs straight out, sitting up straight. Hold one handle in each hand and start with both arms at a 90 degree bend, pinching your shoulder blades together in a slow and continuous motion. Do this for 3 sets of 20 and you’ll be breathing hard in no time!

– Resistance Reverse Lunge: hook your band around one of the bed legs or table leg. Facing the furniture, holding one handle in each hand at your waist, take 2-3 steps back from the furniture gaining some tension in the band (the further back, the harder). From standing, step backwards into a lunge position using your standing leg to push off going backwards and your landing leg to push of coming back. Again do this for 3 sets, 20 reps each leg.

– Ab busting crunches: throwing your resistance band around a chair or bed, grab both ends and hold them at your shoulders. Assume the V-sit position and twist slowly and continuously from side to side doing 3 sets of 15 on each side. Keep your back straight and chest high – no rounded backs! Focus on keeping your abs tense the whole time, and using one side of your “love handles” or the other to crunch and twist your torso.

– Muscle Beach Biceps: stand on your resistance band, feet shoulder width apart and bring the ends up to your shoulders. Pushing up with both your arms, make sure you don’t arch your lower back – face a mirror or window for a reflection to check your form. Nothing should be moving but your arms. You should feel the burn in your shoulders and your triceps after 3 sets of 20.

That was this morning’s 45 minute workout. The day went on and took me to drives filled with trees and rolling green hillsides, shaking hands and talking about business the workday ended with Seattle traffic. A parking lot sit on the highway later, I met my good friend for dinner. As always, we laughed so hard tears rolled down our smile-aching cheeks, we talked about life, love and relationships with our parents, goals in life and celebrated our achievements. And after several more hours of furious typing to catch up on work and emails. I’m falling asleep in an unfamiliar bed but, feeling at home having spent the evening with my dear friend.

P.S. I can’t believe it’s already been 100 posts! Thank you for all those who support me and read, commenting and liking. I hope that above all you find this useful and helpful to your life.

Tags: , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

