About the Post

Author Information

I'm someone who's undergone a complete life/self overhaul. I'm now a professional in my dream job, balancing an amazing relationship, a healthy body, a healthy self image, my passions, my family and surrounding myself with good people. It's hard, not gonna lie. But I'm here to help, to inspire and say "you're not alone."

Me, today. 7.7.12. TOMATO BATTLE!!!

Double Dare ready to sling some produce!

Today was an amazing and exhausting day! It started with an emotional goodbye to a very dear friend moving to California and after held back tears and several long hugs goodbye, I breathed a big sigh and got ready for a photo shoot.

I sat in the salon style chair, several bright bulbs in my face and a woman hovering over me dabbing, pressing, dusting and brushing make up on my face. Usually a meditative process, this one felt nerve wrecking as the woman analyzed my face saying things as “needs more contouring” or “she’s got some extra chin.” But I tried not to let it get to me and prepared some sweet smiles for the photo flashes.

who doesn’t love a tomato silngin good time?

Directly after, I had to run home and complete 2 Double Dare t-shirts, painting the base white, bright Nickelodeon style lettering, and helmets with cups on top. What for you say? What else than a huge several hundred person TOMATO BATTLE! We stood ready at the open gate area, crowded with eager battlers. Standing at the edges the announcer blared some incoherent words and people dressed as vikings, Spartans, kitchen ware and tutus descended on the 3 ft piles of tomato turned projectiles. The produce slinging, face smashing and shorts wetting fun lasted 45 minutes until we successfully made enough tomato sauce to feed a small army. A quick rinse in the sink later, I was blazing back home to start cooking for my best girlfriends surprise dinner party of 10.

The 5 course meal proved to be a challenge of capacity, timing and taste. I baked, broiled, suateed and stirred my way through the 5 courses, plating up, sitting down and joining the merriment between kitchen runs. When the eating was done, we laughed and played a game of Taboo until bellies full and sleepy, everyone decided that their beds was next on the lineup of evening’s activities.

An amazing and fun filled day that made uniquely saucy memories, reminded me that my physical self is not most important, and stretched my artisitc and cooking creativity.

Orange Pesto:
2 fresh oranges – juiced
2 whole heads of roasted garlic
4 bushels basil
1/2 wedge parmesan cheese
2 tblsp olive or macadamia nut oil

blend and serve over fresh mozzarella and tomato

Tags: , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Whacha think?

